top of page

The Return To Paradise: Behind The Scenes Of What I Wanted To Say With It



At the beginning of 2019, I really wanted to write a story about animals and the environment. I thought to myself that people really empathize with characters in a story so, I should write one about the cause I care about the most which is protecting animals in hopes that I get people to emphasize with animals and the humans who are trying their best to protect them. So I wrote the short story ‘The Return To Paradise’ and published it for free here.


The main character is based on my personality

Since I’m trying to get people to see what I see in animals, I wrote the main character, Irene, based on my own personality plus some added fantasy traits to try to get the message across.


Irene is highly sensitive, introverted, and loves animals a lot; just like me. The fantasy traits that I added to her was the ability to talk to animals as a special gift only she has among the other human characters in the story and she becomes best friends with wild animals, including a predator animal which is Sam the brown bear.


The other trait that I gave Irene that is based on me but she acts it out a bit more severely than me, is that she feels insecure about her sensitivity because people called her naïve and silly as she grew up because she was sensitive enough to consider animals just like humans. On top of that, she has this special gift of talking to them which ads to her anxiety and feelings of insecurity which causes her to develop trust issues in her social life especially her love life.


I wrote Irene to basically show people that sensitivity is not a flaw nor is it naïve but rather, very important because it allows us to empathize with each other and the entire planet which eventually leads to peace and a better living environment overall. We need to be sensitive!


I want to show that animals have rights just as we do

By showing animals talking to Irene and loving her back, I hope that people can really see that animals do have personalities and feelings just as we do and that they don’t really differ much from us; they just have a different lifestyle, that’s all. Therefore, they have rights just as we do and we need to respect them just as we respect God because it’s God who created them!


I hope that people can feel that we’re not alone on this planet and that we need to be considerate of animals, nature, and the environment as a whole because it’s humans that are part of the environment not the other way around. If we ruin the environment, we ruin ourselves.


What if telepathy is real?

Even though I made Irene talk to animals just as we talk to each other, but I’m actually referring to telepathic communication or the “sixth sense” as some people call it. Those of you who have pets must have experienced this kind of communication with your pet where they somehow seemed to read your mind and know what you’re up to without you doing or showing anything that makes them realize what you’re gonna do. I sometimes recognized my dog’s rare desires by focusing on her eyes and trying to feel what she’s trying to request from me. It took a few minutes to understand but I was able to understand her eventually.


What I’m really trying to say with this story is: if we really care enough about animals and try to become sensitive to them and their needs, we can develop a special relationship with them that allows us to become best friends with them and to understand them easily through telepathy and it’ll be just as we talk to other humans. That’s including wildlife and predator animals too. I mean, Adam and Eve seemed to be living harmoniously with all kinds of animals; what if that ability still lives in us? We’ve already seen some people being best friends with predator animals like lions and such!


Group work can make wonders!

The last thing I want to show in this story is that if a group of people come together for the sake of one cause, they can make wonders just as Irene, Sofia (her best friend), and Jack (Irene’s boyfriend) did together. I can’t tell you exactly what they did because then, I’ll be spoiling the story for you :') Please read the story here to see how I mixed all this together, it’s free. Even though I can certainly publish it here on the website, it’ll help me a lot to increase the viewership on Wattpad.


I hope you enjoy my story and that all I wanted to convey through it, is really well conveyed to you. Thank you in advance for reading :)

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page